2018 Annual IEMTA Summit Awards

Every year, the Illinois EMT Association awards providers and/or provider's families, with special plaques honoring their service and dedication to EMS and industry related accomplishments.  Below are a list of the annual awards.  If you know of someone who should be nominated, please send us a letter or email with that person's name, current department and position, and a short explanation of why you think that person deserves the award.  Nominations can be sent via the form below, our website contact or by snail mail at our address Illinois EMT Association PO Box 3151 Springfield, IL 62708.  Awards are given out annually at our conference in March.  The next conference is March 8 - 10, 2019, at Northfield Inn and Suites, Springfield, Illinois.

Photo to the left top, Oldest EMT, Joe Stock, Duffy Ambulance.  He is an EMT-I, currently working for Duffy Ambulance.  He retired recently from Illinois State Police after 32 years of service.

Photo to the left bottom, Youngest EMT, Jaylyn Brauman, EMT-B for 6 mos., of Chatsworth Fire and EMS

Additional Awards Given

TK Martin Memorial

Presented to the family of Al Lewin, a long-standing and well respected EMS Educator who's background in Law Enforcement: Illinois State Police, Telecommunications; Administration; ISP EMS Training Coordinator; Human Services Coordinator; Years of service: 32.
EMT/Paramedic, years of experience: 42. EMT Instructor/Trainer. Fire Fighter, Certified FIre Fighter III - Advanced/ Instructor. Served with Divernon Fire Protection District. Retired from Auburn Area Ambulance and America Ambulance.

Robert Stripp Award

Call it a lifetime achievement award, if you will.  Presented to Terry Hume of Tilton Oakwood OSF Pro Ambulance.  Terry has provided 47 years of service to EMS and Emergency Response.

LuAnne Acunscious EMS Educator Award

Presented to Kevin Bernard,  Director Safety and Emergency Management Presence Saint Joseph Medical Center Joliet Il.  Kevin got started in EMS in 1981.  He is currently an EMT-P and EMT-P Instructor.

Previous Awards

Robert Stripp Award - Outstanding Service to EMS Award

The Illinois Emergency Medical Technician Association (IEMTA) annually presents an achievement award to an EMT within our state who exemplifies outstanding work in the pre-hospital area.  This award is called the Robert Stripp Award and is named after the founder of the IEMTA.  Two awards where given at the 2015 Annual Conference; one to Bob Marquis and one to Charles Kelley, (posthumously) from Med Star Ambulance in Sparta, IL.  Bob Marquis humbly accepted his award in person, presented by his nominator, Teresa Hulslander.  The family of Charles Kelley, wife, sons and daughter, were present to accept the honor for Mr. Kelley; presentation by David Burkham, Decatur Ambulance Service.

David Burkham, from Decatur Ambulance Service, presents the Robert Stipp Award to Charlie Kelley's wife, Deborah.

Hulslander presents the second Robert Stipp Award to Bob Marquis.

Past Honorees: 2014 - Josephine Burkey

TK Martin Award
EMS Responders Killed in the Line of Duty

Tommy K. Martin was one of the original members of the Illinois EMT Association. He was also a Chief Deputy for Douglas County. Tommy was killed in the line of duty July 17, 2007 from a gunshot wound he sustained on June 21, 2007 while trying to apprehend two (2) suspects involved in a high speed chase, several robberies and a hostage stand-off in the Old Order Amish community of Arcola, Illinois.  No one was nominated in 2015.

Past honorees: 2014 - Chris Brown (Hudson Fire)

Pictured left is a photo from the 2014 presentation to Chris Brown's family.  The plaque was presented by Greg Scott, McLean EMS Coordinator.   

LuAnn Acuncious Memorial Award
Excellence in Education Award

LuAnn was an educator from LaSalle, Illinois. The IEMTA has a strong focus on quality education for EMS personnel. Each year we plan our annual meeting and seminar with an eye to providing a useful learning experience for the attendees, and structure it in such a way to afford the maximum possible number of continuing education hours; this event has always been well attended and received. The Luann Acuncious Excellence in EMS Education Award is presented by the Association at the seminar and is an affirmation of our commitment to education.

Mary Butzow smiles as she accepts the Luann Acuncius Award from IEMTA board member, Jen Wilson. and Luann's daughter, Danielle.

Luann Acuncius Memorial Plaque

The Newbie EMTs shared the title of newest practicing EMTs!

The longest practicing EMT in the room!

© 2019 Illinois EMT Association


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Proudly created by the Midwest Emergency Services Alliance